1960-61†Calder Memorial Trophy Winner -- Dave Keon -- TOP ROOKIE

Keon, Dave
Toronto Maple Leafs

Critics worried that the Noranda, Quebec centre might be too small to play in the NHL. At 5'9" and 165 pounds, KEON wasn't huge, but certainly made up for his lack of stature with both talent and desire. Born March 22, 1940, DAVE KEON entered the NHL with the Toronto Maple Leafs in 1960-61, scoring 20 goals and 25 assists. He was awarded the CALDER TROPHY as the NHL's top rookie that season, with teammate Bob Nevin in second place. Although highly skilled offensively, KEON was noted for his exceptional defensive dedication and gentlemanly play.
Dave Keon wins Calder Trophy Dave Keon wins Calder Trophy

The only way Keon could have topped his rookie season was to win the Stanley Cup. And indeed he and his Maple Leafs not only won the Cup during Keon's sophomore season, but also in the next two years to follow. Keon had established himself during this three-year "championship" period as a legitimate 20-goal and 60-point player.

The Calder Memorial Trophy is an annual award given to the player selected as the most proficient in his first year of competition in the National Hockey League. To be eligible for the award, a player cannot have played more than 25 games in any single preceding season nor in six or more games in each of any two preceding seasons in any major professional league. The player must not be older than 26 years before September 15 of the season in which he is eligible.


Year First Name Last Name Team
2012-13 Jonathan Huberdeau Florida Pathers
2011-12 Gabriel Landeskog Colorado Avalanche
2010-11 Jeff Skinner Carolina Hurricanes
2009-10 Tyler Myers Buffalo Sabres
2008-9 Steve Mason Columbus Blue Jackets
2007-8 Patrick Cane Chicago Blackhawks
2006-7 Evgeni Malkin Pittsburgh Penguins
2005-6 Alexander Ovechkin Washington Capitals
2004-5 Andrew Raycroft Boston Bruins
2003-4 Barret Jackman St. Louis
2002-3 Dany Heatley Atlanta Thrashers
2001-2 Evgeni Nabokov San Jose Sharks
2000-1 Scott Gomez New Jersey Devils
1999-2000 Chris Drury Colorado Avalanche
1998-99 Sergei Samsonov Boston Bruins
1997-98 Bryan Berard New York Islanders
1996-97 Daniel Alfredsson Ottawa Senators
1995-96 Peter Forsberg Quebec Nordiques
1994-95 Martin Brodeur New Jersey Devils
1993-94 Teemu Selanne Winnipeg Jets
1992-93 Pavel Bure Vancouver Canucks
1991-92 Ed Belfour Chicago Blackhawks
1990-91 Sergei Makarov Calgary Flames
1989-90 Brian Leetch New York Rangers
1988-89 Joe Nieuwendyk Calgary Flames
1987-88 Luc Robitaille Los Angeles Kings
1986-87 Gary Suter Calgary Flames
1985-86 Mario Lemieux Pittsburgh Penguins
1984-85 Tom Barrasso Buffalo Sabres
1983-84 Steve Larmer Chicago Black Hawks
1982-83 Dale Hawerchuk Winnipeg Jets
1981-82 Peter Stastny Quebec Nordiques
1980-81 Ray Bourque Boston Bruins
1979-80 Bobby Smith Minnesota North Stars
1978-79 Mike Bossy New York Islanders
1977-78 Willi Plett Atlanta Flames
1976-77 Bryan Trottier New York Islanders
1975-76 Eric Vail Atlanta Flames
1974-75 Denis Potvin New York Islanders
1973-74 Steve Vickers New York Rangers
1972-73 Ken Dryden Montreal Canadiens
1971-72 Gilbert Perreault Buffalo Sabres
1970-71 Tony Esposito Chicago Black Hawks
1969-70 Danny Grant Minnesota North Stars
1968-69 Derek Sanderson Boston Bruins
1967-68 Bobby Orr Boston Bruins
1966-67 Brit Selby Toronto Maple Leafs
1965-66 Roger Crozier Detroit Red Wings
1964-65 Jacques Laperriere Montreal Canadiens
1963-64 Kent Douglas Toronto Maple Leafs
1962-63 Bobby Rousseau Montreal Canadiens
1961-62 Dave Keon Toronto Maple Leafs
1960-61 Bill Hay Chicago Black Hawks
1959-60 Ralph Backstrom Montreal Canadiens
1958-59 Frank Mahovlich Toronto Maple Leafs
1957-58 Larry Regan Boston Bruins
1956-57 Glenn Hall Detroit Red Wings
1955-56 Ed Litzenberger Chicago Black Hawks
1954-55 Camille Henry New York Rangers
1953-54 Lorne Worsley New York Rangers
1952-53 Bernie Geoffrion Montreal Canadiens
1951-52 Terry Sawchuk Detroit Red Wings
1950-51 Jack Gelineau Boston Bruins
1949-50 Pentti Lund New York Rangers
1948-49 Jim Mcfadden Detroit Red Wings
1947-48 Howie Meeker Toronto Maple Leafs
1946-47 Edgar Laprade New York Rangers
1945-46 Frank Mccool Toronto Maple Leafs
1944-45 Gus Bodnar Toronto Maple Leafs
1943-44 Gaye Stewart Toronto Maple Leafs
1942-43 Grant Warwick New York Rangers
1941-42 Johnny Quilty Montreal Canadiens
1940-41 Kilby Macdonald New York Rangers
1939-40 Frank Brimsek Boston Bruins
1938-39 Cully Dahlstrom Chicago Black Hawks
1937-38 Syl Apps Toronto Maple Leafs
1936-37 Mike Karakas Chicago Black Hawks
1935-36 Dave Schriner New York Americans
1934-35 Russ Blinko Montreal Maroons
1933-34 Carl Voss Detroit Red Wings

The Calder Memorial Trophy, named after former National Hockey League president Frank Calder, is awarded to the National Hockey League player judged to be the most proficient in his first season. Frank Calder was the NHLís president from 1917 until his sudden death in 1943. Although the NHLís best rookie was announced beginning with Carl Voss in 1933, it wasnít until the 1936-37 season and Syl Apps the recipient that the winner actually won the Calder Trophy. Upon Calderís death, the award became the Calder Memorial Trophy.

Home| Other Stuff|Links| News About Dave Keon|About Dave Keon| Something About Me|Sign the Petition|Stats|Media Coverage
Calder Trophy|ConSmythe Trophy|Lady Byng Trophy|Stanley Cup Trophy